"The Gold Hill Rail Trail is a protected railroad right-of-way developed by the Three Rivers Land Trust in partnership with the Historic Gold Hill and Mines Foundation, Inc. The narrow-gauge rail line was built in the 1880’s to transport gold, gold refining equipment and supplies for the New Gold Hill Ltd. Mining Company. The trail, now owned by the Historic Gold Hill and Mines Foundation, Inc., is a part of Gold Hill Mines Historic Park. It joins other trails developed along the old mining roads throughout the 70-acre park to create a scenic leisurely hiking, walking, jogging and biking trail." Brochure for Annual Gold Rush 5k. To date, the trail ends about a mile from the Cabarrus County line at the site of Union Gold and Copper Co.
Mine shafts, a powder house, a steam engine and boiler, and a stone jail are some of the historic structures to be enjoyed along the Gold Hill Rail Trail. After the walk-through history, visit the E.H. Montgomery General Store for additional information, brochures and maps, snacks and refreshments. The quaint village of Gold Hill has an additional dozen restored retail shops for unique gifts, home decor and antiques.
Do not venture off the trail. The trail passes through private property in some areas.
Historic Gold Hill and Mines Foundation, Inc.
735 St. Stephens Church Road
Gold Hill, NC 28071
Success! A new password has been emailed to you.