Bugs Be Gone
Wear light-colored clothing, ideally DEET-free insect repellent, or a headnet to safely keep the biting bugs at bay.
Parking Address and Trailhead Location: 1489 Murrays Mill Road, Catawba, NC 28609. MAP
The trail north of Murray's Mill Road begins at the information board and picnic area and starts off as a gravel trail which eventually changes to a natural surface trail. The trail is narrow with a number of exposed roots. The trail runs through a heavily wooded area, providing lots of shade in the spring and summer months.
The southern portion of trail begins at the two stone circles near the Carolina Thread Trail sign. The start of the trail is not easy to see, but travel along the side of the lake past the two white buildings. Small Carolina Thread Trail markers will mark the trail which goes through the woods and along the edge of the lake. Continue straight past the agricultural field in order to find where the trail resumes to the right in the woods. Continue to the right toward the woods after reaching the graveyard where the trail comes out of the woods along the grass until entering the woods again to finish walking along the trail toward Shiloh Road.
"Preserved intact are the 1913 mill itself, the 1890s Murray & Minges General Store, the 1880s Wheathouse, used as an exhibit gallery, the 1913 John Murray House, furnished to the period, and numerous outbuildings. Run by three generations of the Murray Family, who abandoned operations in 1967, the picturesque structures and surrounding land form the last milling complex in the county, meticulously preserved and interpreted by the Catawba County Historical Association since 1980 when restorations began, Governor James G. Martin attending the opening ceremony in 1988." More history can be found at the Historical Association of Catawba County website.
Visit the Catawba County Historical Association online for more information, or contact:
Catawba County Historical Association
30 N. College Ave.
Newton, NC 28658